When you like someone, you make them a Mix Tape

27 Aug

Image

1st Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. I was in first grade and he was in 5th grade. He played the King of Siam and I was one of his children. My blocking for the musical was to walk up to him and bow. Butterflies.

3rd Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He asked me how to spell my last name. Butterflies.

4th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was the little brother of one of my sister’s friends. He wanted to sit next to me in the audience of their show. Butterflies.

5th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. I met him at camp.  He played the Dentist in Little Shop and I was his assistant. Butterflies.

6th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He kissed me during truth or DARE. We finished the kiss after a rehearsal of As You Like It. Butterflies.Image

7th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was visiting the Hamptons for the summer and he whispered in my ear. Butterflies.

7th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was one of my best friends and dated my best friend. He gave me flowers once. Butterflies.

8th Grade – Once upon a time I liked that boys friend. He and I got to be in a fun play together. Butterflies.

9th Grade – Once Upon a time I liked a boy. He and I acted out our favorite movie in the band room at school.  Big Butterflies.

9th Grade – Once Upon a time I liked a boy. He dated my best friend. We got to be in a couple plays together. Butterflies.

10th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was gay. I watched him tech our show in the shadows of backstage. Butterflies.

11th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He too was gay. I got to kiss him in a show. Big Butterflies.

12th Grade – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was voted Most Spirited of our high school class. We got to do a puppet show reenactment of Lord Of the Flies together. Butterflies.

College: Once upon a time I liked a boy. He went to church. I got to play with him in a sketch comedy club. Big Butterflies.

College: Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was from Sweden. I got to go on a road trip with him to San Francisco. Butterflies.Image

2005 – Once upon a time I liked a boy. He was in a Broadway show. He took me out to dinner. Butterflies.

2005 – Once upon a time I liked this boy. He was the bartender at my favorite bar. He liked Seinfeld. I gave him a black and white cookie. Butterflies.

2006 – Once upon a time I liked this boy. He was the bartender at my other favorite bar. He danced to a Wuthering Heights song for me. Butterflies.

2007 Once upon a time I liked a guy. He was best friends with my best friend’s boyfriend. He kissed me on a desolate NYC street under Christmas lights. Butterflies.

2007 – Once upon a time I liked a guy. He took me to see an amazing Broadway play and right as the lights came up, he put a tweety bird pez dispenser on my lap. Big Butterflies.

Image2008 – Once Upon a time I still liked that guy.

2009 – Once Upon a time, even still, I liked that guy.

2010 – Once Upon a time I liked this guy who I got to play opposite in a show. I would watch him sing brilliantly. Butterflies.

2011 – Once upon a time I liked this boy who had a girlfriend. We were in a musical together. Butterflies.

2012. Once upon a time I liked another boy with a girlfriend. He broke up with her and told me he loved me. Butterflies.

2013. Once upon a time I liked a man for over 6 years, he liked me back. Butterflies.

2014 – Once upon a time I liked this boy I was in a show with. He had a girlfriend. He didn’t care. Butterflies.

 

2 Responses to “When you like someone, you make them a Mix Tape”

  1. I have so many names... 2012 at : #

    I don’t appreciate your stealing my timeline of boy crushes.

  2. I have so many names... 2012 at : #

    This is Eddie, by the way.

Leave a Reply

