MY FAVORITE FRIENDS

16 Oct

I’ve been thinking a lot about my friends lately. What they mean to me, how they show they’re a good friend… I often get trapped into wanting a “movie” kind of life whether it’s to cure boredom or depict the kind of love I want… today I think about friends in film. There are so many good ones. These 10 characters have shown extraordinary acts of friendship…

10. THOMAS JAY
ImagesThe kid risks his life and dies to retrieve a crappy mood ring for his best friend.

9. ELLIS BOYD “RED” REDDING
Images-1This is one of my favorite friendships.
The risks they took for the bigger picture and being reunited “on the other side”…

8. FRANCK EGGELHOFFER
Images-2
Franck went above and beyond the call of duty as a hired “Wedding planner”. His acts of friendship proved to be worthy enough for his friend George Banks to consider naming his baby after the guy. “Franck Banks. It’s got kind of a Continental ring to it, don’t you think?

7. MICHAEL
Images-4
This guy allows the most popular guy in school to draw a dick on his face just so Joseph Gordon Levitt’s character can get closer to the woman of his dreams. He also risks his life in Woodshop class to help his buddy JGL.

6. SYDNEY FIFE
Images-5All Sydney did through out the movie I Love You Man, was care about his best friend Peter. Even when he didn’t make the best choices or really look at the big picture of things in order to be sensitive to Peter’s fiance, he still came out on top. Helping Peter with his career, bonding with Zooey and just making sure he was always there when Peter needed him. With out an agenda.

5. GEORGE DOWNES
Unknown
George flies all the way to Chicago to help his friend Juliane through her struggle of making the RIGHT decisions with out her even asking. He always plays a good conscience for her and allows her to force him into pretending to be straight and engaged just to help her in a sticky situation. Then, on top of it all, he flies BACK to Chicago so she doesn’t have to dance alone at Michael’s wedding. The Best Gay.

4. RON WEASLEY
Images-6Possibly the best sidekick in the history of sidekicks. He rarely let his insecurities or jealousy of Harry get the better of him, instead he was ALWAYS by Harry’s side, fighting the good fight. He risked his life countless times for his best friends with little Glory to take on after it all, and in the end… he got the girl 😉

3. CHUCKIE SULLIVAN
Images-7“Look – you’re my best friend, so don’t take this the wrong way.
In twenty years, if you’re still livin’ here, comin’ over to my house to watch the Patriots games, still workin’ construction, I’ll fuckin’ kill you. That’s not a threat; now, that’s a fact. I’ll fuckin’ kill you…  No. No, no no no. Fuck you, you don’t owe it to yourself man, you owe it to me. Cuz tomorrow I’m gonna wake up and I’ll be 50, and I’ll still be doin’ this shit. And that’s all right. That’s fine. I mean, you’re sittin’ on a winnin’ lottery ticket. And you’re too much of a pussy to cash it in, and that’s bullshit. ‘Cause I’d do fuckin’ anything to have what you got. So would any of these fuckin’ guys. It’d be an insult to us if you’re still here in 20 years. Hangin’ around here is a fuckin’ waste of your time… Every day I come by your house and I pick you up. And we go out. We have a few drinks, and a few laughs, and it’s great. But you know what the best part of my day is? For about ten seconds, from when I pull up to the curb and when I get to your door, ’cause I think, maybe I’ll get up there and I’ll knock on the door and you won’t be there. No goodbye. No see you later. No nothing. You just left. I don’t know much, but I know that. “ – That’s why.

2. RUBY
Unknown-1Your best friend is pregnant and her dream is to be Miss America.
And the rules clearly state that this is impossible if you have a child. What do you do for your friend? I’ll tell you what Ruby did for her friend in the movie BEAUTIFUL she “adopted” the child and raised her as her own so that her best friend could live her dream. Even though Ruby was thrown in jail for a crime she didn’t commit she STILL overlooked her personal hardships and continued to support her best friend, who was often too selfish enough to be even fraction of the friend that Ruby was to her.

1. FORREST GUMP
Images-8Probably the best friend that ever lived. Not only did he save Bubbah’s life, save Lt. Dan’s life AND Make him a billionaire, he always stood by Jenny. Even though her romantic feelings weren’t returned, and proved to be the best friend a girl could ask for. Forrest was good inside and out and everyone could take a lesson in friendship from him.

2 Responses to “MY FAVORITE FRIENDS”

  1. Eddie 2011 at : #

    I LOVE THIS!!! 3 and 2 are my favorite ones.

    • Pam Quinn 2011 at : #

      You’ve seen BEAUTIFUL? I kinda like that movie. Despite all it’s… girlie-ness

Leave a Reply

