THE MEANING OF LIFE…

24 Mar

What does a person have to do to be able to spend the rest of their life doing what they love? I mean, that’s a ridiculous question, right? It’s kind of like “What is the meaning of life”? Isn’t that it? Moulin Rouge says…
“The Greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.”

Is THAT the meaning of life? To find love and be loved? Or is to have a successful career? We’re often told that the American Dream is to move into a house with your wife, have kids and support them with a 9 to 5. But look at what that did to Lester Burnham:

I was brought up to believe that if you’re making money, you’re doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing. My mother always wanted me to take computer courses and discover that I have a knack for business. Did she ever even have a conversation with me?? They sent me to computer camp. Oh, boy did they. I had done two summers at an acting camp upstate and suddenly my parents believed that this was a waste of time. That I had all this energy and just need the opportunity to channel it into a money making mindset. One stormy night I decided to tell a few campers a ghost story about a girl who gets possessed by the devil. There I was, in front of the thunder and lightning backdrop of a sleep away camp. It couldn’t have been a more perfect setting for me to stretch my God given theatrics into a scary story they would never forget. There I was, acting out a scene from The Exorcist at 11 years old in front of kids who would most likely be hiring me as a temp for the fortune 500 company they would start from the ground up. Thunder was clapping, Kids were crying and I went into some world where I was up for an Oscar. The next day I was sent to the Camp Directors office for a psychiatric evaluation and my days at computer camp were soon over.

I think it hit my parents then that I would BE that kid who went through school not paying attention and failing because I was too busy working on a screenplay. I would BE that kid who struggled to find love and be loved in return because I would rather be home revising a play on a Saturday night. I would BE that kid who never went to college because I got a job on the Warner Brothers lot right after high school. Maybe I “sacrificed” a lot of my early twenties focusing on an impossible goal like becoming a writer… but God, did I have so much fun doing it! IF someone had told me that all those years of crying to get a play produced, sweating and panic dealing with the drama of getting a show off the ground could be traded for a desk job that would have paid me over 8Ok a year plus a loving husband and two kids… I wouldn’t trade a moment of it. i I think no matter what we do, whether it’s the ARTS or it’s downtown on Wall street we can all agree that doing what we LOVE, no matter the struggle,  is the meaning of life. If you have a passion…. follow it.  At the end of the day, if you can spend your time being happy with what you do, with who you are, with what you’re putting out in the world… then that’s got to be the meaning of life.  Aren’t you short sighting yourself JUST looking for love and a paycheck to get you through the monthly bills? Oh, and maybe don’t have kids until you’re happy….

 

2 Responses to “THE MEANING OF LIFE…”

  1. Eddie 2011 at : #

    I could not agree with you more. Unfortunately, in our times, passion alone does not overcome the obstacles created by financial burdens. Therefore, a balance between practically and passion is necessary. In my opinion, every Lester Burnham needs a Ricky Fitts in his life.

    • Eddie 2011 at : #

      I meant practicality*

Leave a Reply

